Why exercise if you eat back the calories?

Options

Replies

• Trilby16
    Trilby16 Posts: 707 Member
    Options
    I am no expert but, for me, it helps keep me motivated to exercise, which I believe is a good thing. So far it seems to be working, I eat back, and am losing weight.
  • Cinnamonhuskies
    Cinnamonhuskies Posts: 78 Member
    Options
    Because my calories are based on not exercising and if I exercise I consume more and can thus eat more without affecting my planned speed of weight loss.

So as an example, if I can eat 1600 calories and lose .5 per week I can do that without any excercise. If I exercise daily, I can either speed up my weightloss by not eating them back or eat more. Of course only to a point. You can't be on a 1200 cal diet and exercise say 500 cals worth a day and be healthy if you not eat those cals back. I am at a point where slow loosing is just fine, so I eat back the calories.

And obviously exercise has tons of other benefits as PP listed.

I am on a 1200 cal a day diet and most days I exercise 460 calories a day.
  • peachfigs
    peachfigs Posts: 831 Member
    Options
    (Bah.. The forum crashed when I posted this the first time...)

But from the comments I'm realising that exercise doesn't have to be about weight loss, and it doesn't have to be the dreaded necessary evil that comes with losing weight. Weight loss aside, I'd actually love to be able to run marathons and be much more flexible!
  • droneofvelvet
    droneofvelvet Posts: 290 Member
    Options