How do you get yourself to the gym

Options

Replies

• bumblebums
    bumblebums Posts: 2,181 Member
    Options
    anyone got any tips for when you cant make going to the gym routine?

im a full time student and a shift worker........i never have the same hour free from week to week lol

Hmm, I would talk to your manager at work about giving you a more stable schedule. Lie if you have to, but say that certain hours of the day are not available--just like you cannot work during your classes.

When I had an hourly job ages ago, I had a manager who would draw up a new schedule every week, even though the employees were all the same. It had never occurred to her that she could use the same schedule from week to week, and that her employees would actually like that a lot more than having an unpredictable schedule. When it was pointed out to her, it was like a lightbulb went off in her head.
  • dbrightwell1270
    dbrightwell1270 Posts: 1,732 Member
    Options
    I look in the mirror, think about how much better I look and feel than I did a year ago and much better I will look and feel a year from now.
  • icimani
    icimani Posts: 1,454 Member
    Options
    Just put the shoes on!
    That's been my mantra - if I can just get into my workout clothes, either at the gym or at home, then I'm good to go.

I go to the gym at the end of my work day and I pack my gym bag the night before so it's always in the car. If I decide not to go it's a conscious decision since I have my gear with me.
  • lrbassmom
    lrbassmom Posts: 123
    Options
    So, compiled lists of methods:

Don't think, just do it.
    Prepare, remove the steps/preparation it takes to go.
    Imagine 'future me'.
    Think about the consequences of not going.