Embarrassed when running?

Options
1235»

Replies

• mikeatmichael
    mikeatmichael Posts: 92 Member
    Options
    I run on a walking/bike path that doesn't parallel a road so everyone that sees me is exercising too.

Also, I admire anybody that I see running. The heavier and out of shape they are, the more I admire them.
  • runs2eat
    runs2eat Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    I've been running since 2003, have logged thousands of miles, and had strange things said and done (was followed and nearly run over- but who's counting?) to me, tool! Lol! That just goes with the territory I guess. That's just the world we live in. My advice? Ignore them. Carry mace. If you run on a sidewalk or track and not the road, listen to an Ipod. Think about all the positive things you're doing to help your body as you're running, and not let your mind wander to what others think about you. After all, what does it really matter? Most are probably wishing they could run like you are! Keep up the good work! Maybe look for a running partner if you continue to feel insecure. My best advice for running and living with "people" is to focus on what God thinks of you and who He created you to be. You have dignity, value and worth to Him! What He thinks of you is far more important than what others think. If you have a Bible, read through the gospels- Matthew and John for sure. You'll get a good idea on just how important to Him you really are! Happy running!!!! Keep going!
  • ekz13
    ekz13 Posts: 725 Member
    Options
    JUST KEEP GOING...I started out, baggy clothes 80+ lbs heavier and slow moving, ran at night, schlepping around my block, now I see my self a year later as an example, I now see new people and I smile and wave to them for support that they are one of the crowd, not an outsider.. they are a runner like me. I went and have started replacing my ratty gear with outlet stuff (Under armor, Champion, etc) and I feel much better and look lighter than when I started..