Good foods during menstration

Options
Mmmmona
Mmmmona Posts: 328 Member
I have been dieting and exercising for two months now. I skipped my period last month due to the change in my body. I just got it on my morning dog walk today and it's a killer! I usually have good smooth periods but this one is really hurting. Most months I wouldn't even know I had it, except for the blood. I don't take medication unless my life depends on it so that is out.

What are some good natural remedies for the cramps? What are some good foods to be eating during this time?

Replies

• coliema
    coliema Posts: 7,646 Member
    Options
    Peppermint is really good for cramps.

If my cramps are killing me, I drink a cup of peppermint tea or have a peppermint candy and it helps.
  • LittleMissDover
    LittleMissDover Posts: 820 Member
    Options
    Chocolate
    Crisps
    Ice cream
    Cake

Add in a hot water bottle and some painkillers and you're good to go:laugh:
  • coliema
    coliema Posts: 7,646 Member
    Options
  • sweetpea03b
    sweetpea03b Posts: 1,124 Member
    Options
    Primrose oil tabs... I always take around that time and it helps.
  • Mmmmona
    Options

Thanks. I'll look for some of that.
  • conniemaxwell5
    conniemaxwell5 Posts: 943 Member
    Options
    Keep yourself hydrated and active. The peppermint does help. Once your body gets used to the new activity / nutrition it should go back to normal. If it doesn't you should check with your gynocologist. It could be nothing but it could also just be a coincidence that it started when you made changes to your lifestyle.
  • Pearsquared
    Pearsquared Posts: 1,656 Member
    Options
    I try to drink a lot of water and avoid eating too much salty stuff. I used to get horrible cramps, headaches, and back pain. Birth control has helped a lot, but I still go for hydration when the lesser cramps pop up.
  • GreenChile3
    GreenChile3 Posts: 65
    Options