Strength Training (Not Cardio) is the Real Fat Burner?

Options

Replies

• Raynne413
    Raynne413 Posts: 1,527 Member
    Options
    The key is to be well rounded: cardio, strength, flexibility, and diet. It's all very important.
  • siriusalien
    Options
    I've been testing this theory for last 9 months: I've lost precious little fat weight training and dieting.. Cardio burns fat
  • Jacwhite22
    Jacwhite22 Posts: 7,012 Member
    Options
    Chia seeds are the real fat burner...

Fixed for you. I heard about it on Dr. Oz.
  • Jacwhite22
    Options
    I've been testing this theory for last 9 months: I've lost precious little fat weight training and dieting.. Cardio burns fat

no
  • MonkRocker
    MonkRocker Posts: 198
    Options
    Diet is the real fat burner...

Said another way:

Abs are made in the kitchen, not the gym.
  • californiagirl2012
    californiagirl2012 Posts: 2,625 Member
    Options
    Both are equally important. Too many focus on just cardio.

Eating less is what makes you lose fat. You can't burn off eating too much with exercise. Most people don't realize they eat more than they need and it builds up over the years. We live with an over abundance of food and lack of exercise and everyone looking for the magic pill.

Strength training is important for keeping your lean body mass and especially for women keeping you from getting osteoporosis.

Girls are afraid of gaining muscle. We don't have the hormones to get big so do not worry, you won't get big if you don't do steriods. I am a perfect example. I lift heavy but I am still feminine, and my 51.5 year old bones are that of a super atletic 30 year old according to the DXA bone density test. No worry about osteoporosis in my future.
  • ironanimal
    ironanimal Posts: 5,922 Member
    Options
    Let me take a guess; a pair of pink (or cherry red) dumbbells no heavier than a small laptop?
  • LeeKetty1176
    LeeKetty1176 Posts: 881 Member
    Options