Ladies, if you have a job interview do you wear pants

Options

Replies

• Koldnomore
    Koldnomore Posts: 1,613 Member
    Options
    I work in IT. Pants, comfortable shoes, nice shirt - nothing too 'formal' and definitely NO skirts.

The outfit you wear should take into consideration the position you are applying for and should be reflective of the type of clothing that you will be wearing to work daily if you are hired.
  • leeshac13
    leeshac13 Posts: 7 Member
    Options
    I always wear a skirt or pant suit.
  • youcandooeet
    youcandooeet Posts: 104 Member
    Options
    It depends on your field and what is considered appropriate I would assume, but I usually wear a cute dress with heels or a skirt/cardigan combo with heels. I look professional, and I am wearing something that fits my personality. You wouldn't catch me in a pants suit outside of an interview, why would I wear one to it?
  • Bentley2718
    Bentley2718 Posts: 1,690 Member
    Options
    Assuming you have a professional job, a suite with either pants or a skirt is acceptable. I prefer skirts, just because they tend to fit me better, but if I had a nice pants suite, I think that would be equally appropriate.
  • jess7386
    jess7386 Posts: 477 Member
    Options
    It really depends on your field... I am an attorney and there are a lot of judges who frown upon wearing pants with a suit as opposed to a skirt. When I go to court I almost never wear pants for that reason. Same thing with job interviews for me. I would ask people in your field and also consider the reputation of the company - if it's business casual I'd say wear pants... if it's business formal you should wear a skirt. Go with a suit either way. Good luck on your interview!
  • dym123
    dym123 Posts: 1,670 Member
    Options
    Pants suit. Still do, because my new job requires that I wear either a suit or pants with jacket. Makes deciding what to wear very easy.
  • CarSidDar
    CarSidDar Posts: 118 Member
    Options