Employer charging smokers.. Thoughts?

Options

Replies

• cmcollins001
    cmcollins001 Posts: 3,472 Member
    Options
    My opinion is it makes sense b/c smokers cost a company more in medical bills. I'm no doctor but I read that smokers will get sick easier than non-smokers, have a higher risk of developing cancers, heart disease (even if blood pressure is not high), and other diease that simply makes a smoker more expensive than an identical person who did not smoke.

How do you figure? I smoked for 20 years and not once did I go to the hospital for anything "smoking" related.
  • alpine1994
    alpine1994 Posts: 1,915 Member
    Options
    i only smoke when i drink... so, i dont take breaks to smoke at work. and, i dont know where this money goes, i will learn more later. in my head, why not charge folks that are obese with awful eating habits & that are sedentary.

You are a risk to the insurance company. It doesn't matter when you smoke/how much you smoke, but the fact that you do poses a significant risk to the insurance company that they'll have to pay more money on your medical bills down the road. My insurance company definitely jacks the premium based on obesity too. I think it's perfectly fair for them to do this. Any other kind of insurance does the same thing (car, home ownership, etc). It's just another of the millions of incentives to lead a healthy lifestyle.
  • ChrisRS87
    ChrisRS87 Posts: 781 Member
    Options