5 Pounds A Month March 2010 Challenge

Options

Replies

• DixonKels
    DixonKels Posts: 20 Member
    Options
    Good afternoon everyone! What a weekend I had...where should I begin? Let's start with Saturday morning.....I woke up to get ready for a short work day and went to feed and let out my 7 month old Lab/Pitt mix puppy. He had thrown up in his kennel over night =( So, I wrote it off as just maybe a little stomach bug and fed him like normal and went to work because he was acting totally normal. Around 1, as I was finishing up my last client of the day (I am a hair stylist) , my hubby called and said that Gator had thrown up his breakfast. So I got home and we immediately took him to the vet. So our vet starts examining him and felt a large mass in his lower abdomen which worried her, so we decided to do some x rays. Nothing showed up in the x ray so she wanted to do barium dye x rays, where he drinks this stuff and they do a series of x rays as the liquid travels through his system and it highlights any foreign bodies that may be inside of him. After doing about 12 x rays the vet came back and said that the barium was moving very slow so she wanted us to take him home and bring him back in the morning for another x ray because by then all of the barium should be through his organs. So, we took him home and woke up Sunday morning to our sweet lil boy covered in his own vomit and all over his kennel =( He was also extremely lethargic and he is usually a very very active puppy! We got him to the vet and she did another x ray and said that the barium was not getting though his intestines and she was positive he had some sort of blockage and immediately wanted to do exploratory surgery! So we had to rush him up to Atlanta because she couldn't do it at her office. After we got to ATL and spoke with the vet there they got him in to surgery, it took about 4 hours, and they ended up finding a nylon leash in him!!!! Can you believe that crazy pup ate an entire 5 foo