Hi, any 40 or 50 year olds trying to lose weight?

Options

Replies

• robin949598
    robin949598 Posts: 86 Member
    Options
    I am 41 and would like to lose 10 more pounds. The weight sure comes off a lot harder than in did years ago.
  • long2know
    long2know Posts: 49 Member
    Options
    Hi - I'm 41 and have lost 95-100 lbs in (6) months. I'm a software engineer, and live a pretty sedentary life style.

For me, it was a combination of diets and exercise. Before using MFP, I was on a low-carb diet to get a jump-start on my weight loss. After losing 30-40 lbs, I switched to calorie counting and MFP.

I started a (serious) running routine in late October/November of last year and have already run four or five half-marathons. I use Endomondo to track my runs, and it tells me my average is 5 miles a day. The integration with MFP is pretty sweet!

A good one-hour run, for example, burns 1000+ calories.

I can't say for sure if this has been harder or easier than when I was younger. It has been hard work, but it has also been pretty quick.
  • TOMEKA18
    TOMEKA18 Posts: 103 Member
    Options
    Hello. I am 40 and want to weigh 140.
  • mariannekehl
    mariannekehl Posts: 66 Member
    Options
    Lovely to meet you! I am 42 and have around 30lbs to lose. Please feel free to add me. I am on here most days and am also in the process of giving up smoking!

Congrats on the quitting smoking! I quit 6 years ago after smoking for nearly 30 years and I have never EVER felt better in my entire life - keep up the efforts - it is truly worth it in the end.

I am 50 years old and I my goal is to lose 30 pounds!
  • jenns1964
    jenns1964 Posts: 384 Member
    Options
    Hi, I am 48 and now have about 80 lbs to lose. It is an uphill battle to lose weight after 40, but I will do it!
  • lgblack
    lgblack Posts: 73 Member
    Options