Log the food before you eat it?

Options
I'm new to MFP, and already I've found myself planning my meals (or at least think about what I want for lunch or dinner) and logging them *before* I eat them,. I also figure in exercise I think I will be able to do. This has helped me adjust my day's meals and plan for exercise, and even once, stopped me from going to Starbucks to get their pumpkin bread! Don't get me wrong, I still enjoyed sweets and even a couple of drinks, but it's been a good way for me to consider the food choices I'm making before I eat them, rather than after.

Do other people do this, or do you have other ways you help manage your nutrition and exercise proactively?

Replies

• Rachlovesfitness
    Rachlovesfitness Posts: 219 Member
    Options
    Hey there welcome to MFP, I log my foot/exercise a lot of times the night before or when I first wake up, it keeps me on track and makes things a lot more structured which I personally need
  • AlyssaNorth
    AlyssaNorth Posts: 57 Member
    Options
    i log my meals ahead of time. that i way i can plan for my sweet tooth =]
  • spongebex
    spongebex Posts: 194 Member
    Options
    Yes that's how I use myfitnesspal I use it to plan what in gonna eat and factor in exercise calories. If it works for you keep doing it and review when if it becomes not so helpful :)
  • Hannahmave
    Options
    actually thats a great idea, think i might take a leaf out of your book x
  • Karenmddefl
    Options
    I do that as well. In fact, yesterdayI clicked on a few different food options for
    Lunch out at Hungry Howies and added them to see the impact. I then deleted all but what I chose to eat. It stopped me from having pizza! It was a challenge to. see and smell it there, but I stuck with my small salad. Will I always do that...no! Does it help me choose wisely? Yes!
  • karinefournel
    karinefournel Posts: 10 Member
    Options