People who say "Hon"

Options

Replies

• LeahT84
    LeahT84 Posts: 202 Member
    Options
    I am one who often says "thanks hon" to the chick at the gas station, grocery store, etc. I also work in health care and have had many upon many of clients over the years that I have cared for, and I almost always call them "hon" or "honey" as my way of showing them that I am listening and that I care about them. It's just a natural thing for me to say to kids, women, and men. I call all my friends hon, and even acquaintances. I didn't realize that it would bother anyone, and I don't do it to flirt. If I was flirting with them, it would be a hell of a lot more than a "hon" comment. :blushing:
  • scarrletti_girl
    scarrletti_girl Posts: 479 Member
    Options
    I like it when my husband calls me hon cuz it is enduring and sweet but i do not like it when some stranger calls me hon it is creepy and makes me feel uncomfortable(doesnt matter if it is boy or girl)
    just makes me feel weird and that is why i dont say it to anyone except my husband because that is where those little names belong, with people you love. lol
  • JoanB5
    JoanB5 Posts: 610 Member
    Options
    When the girl is younger than me, works at a fast food joint or a grocer, no. Just do your job well, smile, and say, "Have a nice day."

If she is older, and I'm in the hospital, I'm good.
  • NorthernCardinal
    NorthernCardinal Posts: 18 Member
    Options
    Lots of people do it in healthcare, I hate it so much. That and "Dear" or "Sweetie", especially when talking to elderly patients/clients, like seriously, how condescending?!
  • TinaDay1114
    TinaDay1114 Posts: 1,328 Member
    Options
    Am I the only one who hates it when people misspell hun as "hon"? Like "Nice job Hon", or whatever. It just seems like this really cheesy attempt to spell this beautiful word correctly.

It's HUN, hun.