Replies

• mpf1
    mpf1 Posts: 1,437 Member
    Options
    bump
  • Pearlyladybug
    Pearlyladybug Posts: 882 Member
    Options
    The last post is a little contradicting. First you dismiss food intolerance, then say she should be tested for a food allergy. Food allergies and food intolerance are different, and testing for allergies won't make a difference. I'm not trying to pick a fight, just someone who resisted the idea of food intolerance and after 44 years found out that the bloat I experienced after eating was not normal. At all. It may not be gluten, or a food intolerance at all. But it should be considered. I experienced bloat after eating anything it seemed, and eliminating gluten changed everything.

I didn't dismiss it, I'm not a doctor there for a cannot dismiss anything. I said it may not be the problem. Sorry for not using the right word i did mean intolerance. I also didn't say test for it because you can't really. I also cannot eat gluten or dairy for the same reason but i experience other stuff along with the bloating and i think is is pretty unusual not to have any other symptoms. I'm just saying that MAYBE is isn't and to try other things first before ruling out gluten etc if you don't need to. It could be a simple fix, instead of freaking the poor girl out with worse case stuff.

I'm also entitled to have an opinion, If she doesn't want to take mine that's fine.
  • macybean
    macybean Posts: 258 Member
    Options
    I wasn't trying to be rude, just seemed like lots of people seem to dismiss food intolerance. And people do confuse allergies with intolerance. Just wanted to let her know that allergy testing won't help, it wasn't an attempt to tell you you're wrong. And a food intolerance is certainly not the worst thing in the world...it shouldn't freak her out. And yes, you are entitled to your opinion. I didn't mean to imply otherwise.
  • LIFESDP
    LIFESDP Posts: 4
    Options