Is giving up diet soda really worth it?

Options

Replies

• Cheetahgirl88
    Cheetahgirl88 Posts: 15 Member
    Options
    There are scientific studies. As well, as a scientist, I know for a fact that the chemicals in diet soda (and some in all sodas) have negative effects on the bodies metabolic systems. The studies are there if you do the research!
    I think that people tend to think if something is good then it must be bad. They then create stories to support their beliefs. If there were quality scientific studies saying that diet drinks have negative consequences, then I would give diet drinks up. Otherwise, I am not. Also know, we all have been wrong in our lives and I may be wrong. If so, then studies will let us know.
  • sonymacaroni11
    sonymacaroni11 Posts: 4 Member
    Options
    i think it is worth it to quit. just read the label and you'll see what a chemical cocktail it is. after quitting a 10+ year diet coke habit, i legitimately feel better. i have not lost any noticeable weight (but i also quit smoking soon after, so maybe they balanced out), but my body FEELS better. my sense of taste also improved, and i've cut back on my sweets now that i can really taste them. though i still love coffee, my caffeine need is also reduced.

for a soda substitute, try cranberry juice (or any other) + citrus seltzer water. i mix about 1/4 to 1/2 cup juice to one can of seltzer water. the carbonation will always be bad for your teeth, but it puts good things (cranberries, water) in rather than bad (weird chemicals).
  • chrisdavey
    chrisdavey Posts: 9,834 Member
    Options
    There are scientific studies. As well, as a scientist, I know for a fact that the chemicals in diet soda (and some in all sodas) have negative effects on the bodies metabolic systems. The studies are there if you do the research!