Student brought me an iced mocha...

Options
12346»

Replies

• _errata_
    _errata_ Posts: 1,653 Member
    Options
    Wow, Thank you for the positive, constructive responses. I can't believe how snarky some of you are! I have amazing students who I love dearly and would never want to squash their generosity. I work very hard to make them achieve their brightest potential, I would never intentionally break that trust.

I am not diabetic and I don't eat EVERY cookie lying around. I used that to try to show that I struggle with self-control (apparently some of us are very literal).

When I wrote my original post, I hadn't looked up the calories yet and thought there were a lot more than the actual. I'm still new to this and have been really working hard.

I accepted the drink with a thank you and a smile, drank a few sips while the student was present, drank about half total and threw the other half down the sink.

Again, thank you for your responses. Please remember when posting that this site is for people who are trying to better themselves. Rarely does negativity help anyone.

Seems pretty reasonable to me. For the record, I wasn't facepalming the OP. :)

I think what you went through is pretty common for everyone in a work environment. At some point in time we have to realize that these sorts of decisions have to be sustainable. For some, saying no is easy, and they can do that for the rest of their lives. Other people have a harder time doing that, so they have to do one of three things, or a combination of 1 and 2:

1) Adjust their diet for the rest of the day so they stay under their goal.
    2) Hit the gym harder to burn off the calories.
    3) Not care. Gain weight.