Kettlebell Swings! Are you up for the challenge?

Options
2»

Replies

• htimpaired
    htimpaired Posts: 1,404 Member
    Options
    Got day one done yesterday, but was at the gym where the heaviest bell they had was a 20 lb, so not as challenging as I'd like. Tonight is one of my scheduled kettlebell nights at home, so I'll do this with my 30!
  • htimpaired
    Options
    I'm new to kettlebells, so I'm watching videos and trying to get the correct form from the beginning.
    Using 10 lb bell. Did 10 swings on day 1 and 10 swings on day 2, so I'm on track. :)

I watched some YouTube videos with Ryan Raw -- very helpful.
    My dvd's came yesterday, so I'll be watching those soon. They are two different trainers.
    Lots of variety for learning, but the messages are consistent. I like that!

Try ontheedgefitness.com. Lauren Brooks is the trainer-she does some great videos on form too!
  • Booksandbeaches
    Booksandbeaches Posts: 1,791 Member
    Options
    I did a kettlebell workout last night using a Ryan Raw video on YouTube. I think I need to go up to another kettlebell weight. I don't quite feel the workout this morning.

1lovechips - You can do it with one kettlebell. That's what I do. That's what most workouts I've seen do. Using two kettlebells at the same time is very challenging. You can get a great workout using just one kettlebell that you can hold in both hands for certain movements. Switch the kettlebell to one arm when you want to work each arm individually.
  • sydneyplainjane
    sydneyplainjane Posts: 140 Member
    Options
    What's a good starting weight for a beginner? Coincidentally, I just bought a 10 pound kettlebell this morning, even before I saw this thread. When I got it, though, I was thinking about doing more than just swings, so I bought something I could lift with one arm. But, for swings, maybe I should be using a higher weight?