My meeting with a Sports Nutritionist

Options

Replies

• wheird
    wheird Posts: 7,963 Member
    Options
    As a scientist I would like to remind people of the "Half-life of facts", which says that over time half of what you know to be true will be untrue.

Skepticism and questioning facts are vital to progress. Hating on a forum that, at it's core, is supposed to encourage and inspire users to lose weight is wrong.

As a scientist I would expect you to appreciate asking for facts rather than being asked to take someone's word for things. Skepticism and questioning facts is vital to progress, I completely agree. And questioning and arguing the minutiae of an assertion is how we find truth.
  • 3dogsrunning
    3dogsrunning Posts: 27,167 Member
    Options
    When an egg is released but isn’t fertilized, the body secretes progesterone to start the menstrual flow.

This is incorrect.
    Progesterone is secreted starting with ovulation to prepare the uterus for implantation of the fertilized egg. If there is a pregnancy, progesterone secretion continues.
    If the egg isn't fertilized, progesterone secretion drops off and the uterine lining sloughed off.

tumblr_m4ckc8oNSp1qzydh2o1_500.gif

I missed that post otherwise I wouldn't have bothered with mine. And it was much more to the point than mine (shocker).
  • fpskelly
    fpskelly Posts: 15
    Options
    Skepticism and questioning facts are vital to progress. Hating on a forum that, at it's core, is supposed to encourage and inspire users to lose weight is wrong.

.... The first part seems to contradict the second.

In my opinion they don't.

I can question your "facts" and promote what I believe to be true without it descending into an argument.

Questioning someone's facts and promoting your own opinion instead is pretty much the definition of an argument.

I guess that depends on what side of the Atlantic you're on.
  • lynnie30
    lynnie30 Posts: 105 Member
    Options