2016 Adopt a Noob Official MFP Thread

Options

Replies

• belnardorosa
    belnardorosa Posts: 5 Member
    Options
    Hey guys, I'm new to MFP but not new to dieting, I've probably been doing it most of my life. Now I weight around 220lbs and I'm 5'11, I wanna go down to 187 to beat obesity.
  • themedalist
    themedalist Posts: 3,215 Member
    Options
    DWBalboa wrote: »

Don't mean to sound like a Drill Instructor, but if you are truly interested in getting in shape and are invested in obtaining your goals, at the very least you need to have your basic info on your profile filled out.

About Me:
    I haven't filled this out yet.

Why I want to get in shape:

My Inspirations:

If you want people to help you and to take you serious about this, then you have to put forth the effort to show us you are devoted to this goal.

I couldn't agree more! Although I've found my mentees for now, I continue to watch this thread to see if there might be someone else I could effectively mentor. I'm looking for people who in my assessment have what it takes to be successful. There are willing to take a set of actions day in and day out that are essential to losing weight (such as logging into MFP every day and logging their food intake using a digital scale). They may need some guidance and support to be successful, but they aren't looking for a mentor to "motivate" them. They know that motivation comes from within. They are determined to succeed and are in a place in their lives right now where they can devote the time and energy needed to lose weight.

If you are serious about losing weight, filing out your MFP profile, writing a descriptive request for a mentor as BiafraGirl11 has done (excellent!), and taking the time to go to the mentor's MFP profile page to learn something about them is a great place to start. You are asking a total stranger to help you. I think you can shift the odds of that happening in your favor by taking these foundational steps.
  • BiafraGirl11