Welcome to Debate Club! Please be aware that this is a space for respectful debate, and that your ideas will be challenged here. Please remember to critique the argument, not the author.

Essential Oils

WeepingAngel81
WeepingAngel81 Posts: 2,232 Member
I am new to the E.O. world, and came into not really having no opinion about them either way. I do use oils, but I do not believe that modern medicine should be tossed out the window. I just took a trip to the doctor a couple of weeks ago, in fact, for a nasty cough I had going on. However, the more I learn, the more I realize there is a lot of opinions that tend to either fall under full out belief in using them to support your body OR total skeptics believing them to be just another craze. I am curious about what others think about taking a more holistic approach to their health.

What do you think? Are they just another craze, or do believe their is real science behind them and why? Are they something you have ever incorporated into your life, or do you have no use for them?

Replies

• paulgads82
    paulgads82 Posts: 256 Member
    I have the ones that smell nice. Holistic health is a bit of a buzzword and is usually a good indicator of pseudoscience to me. I personally think that health involves a "holistic" approach in that diet and exercise are important but who doesn't?
  • Heartlight441
    Heartlight441 Posts: 278 Member
    I have and use EO's! Love them!! I use them for anxiety and depression and also if my muscles are sore!
  • emdeesea
    emdeesea Posts: 1,823 Member
    I'm very skeptical and think it runs more along the lines of placebo effect - if you think it's going to work, then it will.

That said, occasionally when I visit the massage therapist she uses a mint oil on the scalp which is very soothing. But I don't believe that it's actually doing anything other than what it's meant for, which is to just be a refreshing scrub. I don't get into magical thinking myself.
  • mbaker566