Starting Keto today

Options
Are there any Keto followers out there? I'm just adding my Macros to the App now and looking forward to the change.
I've been using a calorie controlled diet for 5 months and lost 2st... I want to change my lifestyle now and see the benefits.

Replies

• hazegaming28
    hazegaming28 Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    I just started a keto diet few days ago, although I must admit it's kinda hard trying to limit your Carb intake as most of the foods we're used to are Carby. So in the beginning you might need to do a little reasearch on low carb and high fat recipes. But once you've got everything down you will enjoy it.
  • jayneylil
    jayneylil Posts: 5 Member
    Options
    I'm going back on keto after having my baby. Managed to loose 40lbs last time but ive put it all back on! I was looking for a keto challenge group for Jan, anyone seen one?
  • snickerscharlie
    snickerscharlie Posts: 8,578 Member
    Options
    There's a LCHF/Keto group here at MFP that you might want to join:

http://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/group/394-low-carber-daily-forum-the-lcd-group
  • CeeBeeSlim
    CeeBeeSlim Posts: 1,272 Member
    Options
    Just started! Good luck. Feel free to add me, All.
  • nvmomketo
    nvmomketo Posts: 12,019 Member
    Options
    Make sure you increase sodium. Electrolytes often egt low with the water loss caused by low carb and low insulin levels. Keto'ers will usually need at LEAST 3000-5000mg of sodium per day. That's a over 2 tsp of salt.

If you let electrolytes go low you may experience a headache, fatigue, crankiness, brain fog, nausea, muscle aches and eventually cramps. People call it keto flu but it is actually low electrolytes... or badly planned ketosis. ;) Sodium from a couple cups of broth, salt tablets or even salted water (I add a tsp of salt to water every morning).