Any 'child-free by choice' people out there?

Options
quixoticmantis
quixoticmantis Posts: 297 Member
Hey everyone!

I'm a 30 year old Licensed Veterinary Technician, and I've never had the desire to have kids. I like kids, don't get me wrong - they're just not for me :) Luckily, my boyfriend of 3 years respects this whole-heartedly.

Any others out there who are child free by choice? The only complaint I have is that it's VERY hard to find friends who don't want/already have children....especially in the south where we are.

Replies

• LorinaLynn
    LorinaLynn Posts: 13,247 Member
    Options
    :drinker: Me!

I just have no maternal instincts towards human babies. I've been a vet tech, too, and have 7 cats and a dog, so all my motherly urges are satisfied with them. I'm sooooo happy my husband is like-minded on the matter.

People like to try to tell me I'll change my mind. Someone told me that The Clock would start ticking when I hit 30. I was 37 when she told me that. :laugh: I'm 39 now, and there's still no ticking.
  • arhzon
    arhzon Posts: 150
    Options
    Well, I'm still 24, but I have no desire for kids. I have occasionally been okay with someone else's kids, and that's when they are going home anytime. I have 3 pets, and am not patient enough for them, so I would hate to think what I would be like with something that'll start talking back to me after 2 or 3 years.
  • Lstrhi
    Lstrhi Posts: 132
    Options
    Me too! It's great to know that there are others out there, I'm 27 and I hate the awkward questions.... Sometimes I feel like you arent really considered a woman unless you have a baby
  • UpEarly
    UpEarly Posts: 2,555 Member
    Options
    Me! I was certain from a very young age that I was never intended to be a mother. People always told me I'd change my mind one day. But, here I am... turning 40 in September, and I haven't ever felt a maternal urge or a biological clock.