Options
13»

Replies

• Dnarules
    Dnarules Posts: 2,081 Member
    edited August 2017
    Options
    SezxyStef wrote: »
    I used to work as a cleaner & my Samsung watch told me id done a 'dynamic workout' so yeah, pretty sure it counts.

so if you did such dynamic workouts why are you on here trying to lose weight?

Because you can't outrun a bad diet?

ETA: I see I am late to this game and this has been well-covered :).
  • DX2JX2
    DX2JX2 Posts: 1,921 Member
    Options
    sijomial wrote: »
    DX2JX2 wrote: »
    AnnPT77 wrote: »
    I'd note that some people want to accumulate the best possible set of log data, for eventual use in estimating personal loss rate or TDEE from their own data (which, when collected carefully, is inherently more accurate than calculator estimates).

This makes an even stronger case to eliminate minor one-offs from trend analysis.

No it actually doesn't.
    You would exclude bad data but wouldn't exclude small data for accuracy in plotting trends.

I would say that any guesstimate for incremental calories burned through heavy cleaning is bad data. Just writing a number down on paper or creating an MFP entry does not make it good data. It's a one-off guess with no reasonable comparison to derive any kind of calorie burn figure.

Couple that with the thinking that the incremental impact is likely small enough so as to not have any impact on weight loss results, and this is noise around the signal. Meaningless towards weight loss results and meaningless towards the resulting data interpretation.

Recurring activities or exercises are different in that there are references to provide as starting points for estimates and/or enough frequency of occurrence such that over time an individual can actually determine a reasonable estimate for the impact of that activity on weight loss results.
  • AnnPT77
    AnnPT77 Posts: 32,645 Member
    Options