CPAP and Sleep Apnea

Options
I was diagnosed with sleep apnea almost 3 years ago and have used a CPAP machine since then. One of my major goals is to not have to use a machine at all. My sleep apnea is connected to being overweight. I'm just tired of all of it. Is anyone else in the same boat? Or was?

Replies

• waytoofat3
    waytoofat3 Posts: 278 Member
    Options
    I've had a CPAP for 2 yrs.I'd rather not have to use it but I do get a much better sleep than without.My Dr.said my apnea is most likely caused by being overweight as well,however,I disagree,because I never got a good nights sleep even when I was thin.For me it might be something I use for the rest of my life.

What bothers you most about it? I didn't like it for the first few nights I used it but that was it
  • Silentpadna
    Silentpadna Posts: 1,306 Member
    Options
    Runs in my family. My dad was skinny most of his life and shook the house. I've been using a CPAP for 15 years. Don't like it, but I do like the better sleep I get with it. Weight is a factor for some or many, but most likely not in my case.
  • tinkerbellang83
    tinkerbellang83 Posts: 9,140 Member
    Options
    Just a few of the stories on the Success board (Use the advanced search function and change the board)

Weight loss is fairly simple (although it's not always easy) if you're truly tired of it, lose the weight and you will probably be able to wave farewell to the CPAP machine. Check out the Most Helpful posts pinned at the top of the Getting Started & this board and you will find an abundance of information on how to lose weight without being miserable or starved in a sustainable manner and great tips for keeping it off.

http://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/discussion/10641005/reversed-pre-diabetes-sleep-apnea-bronchitis-asthma-lost-196-lbs-in-3-1-2-years

http://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/discussion/735623/sleep-apnea-it-is-not-a-life-sentence