Women 200lb+, Let's Be Extra Awesome This August!!!

Options

Replies

• pliskit
    pliskit Posts: 9 Member
    Options
    speyerj wrote: »
    @pliskit - welcome! Yes, this is a great thread for accountability. A lot of us track our weight on this thread weekly and post health (and sometimes mental health) goals which we also track weekly. There's a new thread every month - I've been posting here since July of 2019. It's made all the difference in the world.

I am also a runner. Like you I had a history of running when I was thinner, but injury and then weight gain got me off track. When I tried to take up running again while 90 pounds heavier it was unbelievably hard. I couldn't run even for 6 minutes. I'm impressed you were able to do 20 this morning. You are just starting out and running with extra weight is more strenuous. Set up a training plan for yourself to get you back to where you were and make your training plan progressive. Running/walking intervals is a great way to build endurance and speed. You'll get there.

Oh I have never been thin. lol When I trained and ran the half I mentioned above I was between 210 and 190. I have run 8 half marathons at 190-210lbs since August 2017. I do have proper running programs to follow. I just don't lol My problem is actually sticking to a plan and following through. The longest I have run in the last 6 months is 7km. But I am currently running more like 3km. Because I just give up or pick a short route.
  • orangequilt
    orangequilt Posts: 4,181 Member
    Options
    Good to meet you @pliskit ! I run/stumble from time to time too, just a slow 20 mins here and there. I do find that my leg muscles are quite strong from carrying all that weight around, so that can be a plus for running as the weight comes off. This is a lovely supportive group, looking forward to seeing you around.
  • balaff
    balaff Posts: 8 Member
    Options