Swimming

Options
Hi All

Looking for some suggestions on how to make Swimming an effective form of exercise. I'd like to go twice a week for about half an hour initially, with a gym session once a week. My exercise has been on the back burner for a little while so trying to come up with something sustainable.

Any suggestions/tips would be appreciated :)

Replies

• snowflake954
    snowflake954 Posts: 8,400 Member
    Options
    You aren't giving a lot of information. Are you a beginner? Do you know how to swim? Suggesting how to exercise with swimming depends on the person and their goals. For example there are obese or elderly posters that will do just fine walking in the pool. Then there are people that don't know how to swim, but want to learn.

I welcome you to swimming (I've been swimming for 25 yrs) or returning, as the case may be.
  • x_stephisaur_x
    x_stephisaur_x Posts: 149 Member
    Options
    You aren't giving a lot of information. Are you a beginner? Do you know how to swim? Suggesting how to exercise with swimming depends on the person and their goals. For example there are obese or elderly posters that will do just fine walking in the pool. Then there are people that don't know how to swim, but want to learn.

I welcome you to swimming (I've been swimming for 25 yrs) or returning, as the case may be.

You're absolutely right, how unhelpful of me!

Yes, I know how to swim (good start). I am reasonably proficient, but I don't get chance to do it as often as I would like, which is what I would like to change. I used to swim a lot when I was at uni, but now it's just as and when I can. My front crawl and breast stroke are good, back stroke is ok but I can't butterfly to save my life ;)

I'm overweight, but able to do a good cardio workout. My podiatrist has just suggested that I go for something lower impact as I have hypermobile ankles.

Hopefully that is better info! :)
  • snowflake954
    Options