Paleo - Pros/Cons

Options

Replies

• secretlobster
    secretlobster Posts: 3,566 Member
    Options
    Ohhh... so it's a MAGIC diet that can disregard the laws of thermodynamics?

Tell me how exactly you think thermodynamics work. I assure you it's not that simple. The human body is a complex machine.
  • Jipples
    Jipples Posts: 663 Member
    Options
    but for me, I'd rather restrict what I can eat rather than how much)

But you still have to eat within a certain number of calories to lose or maintain weight no matter what kind of food you're eating. I imagine it's just as easy to get fat on a paleo diet as it is on a well balanced diet. If you overeat, you gain.

false

Are you going to hit us with "you can't overeat on a paleo diet"?

No, I'm not that guy. And to be fair, I'm new to the diet and do not claim to be an expert. But just in the very short time I've implemented it, I feel better. That's all I know. Now, how will I feel in a few months or whatever, we'll see. If I notice I'm losing muscle and strength in the gym, I'll reevaluate what I'm doing. But I've read enough to convince me to give the diet a try....and so far, albeit only a week, I feel like I'm responding well to it. That's my research.
  • bm99
    bm99 Posts: 597 Member
    Options

But you still have to eat within a certain number of calories to lose or maintain weight no matter what kind of food you're eating. I imagine it's just as easy to get fat on a paleo diet as it is on a well balanced diet. If you overeat, you gain.

false

Nah, it's not magic. So you're saying a calorie is a calorie and your body processes all food the same way and with the same efficiency?

I said you have to eat within a certain amount of calories to lose or maintain weight. Are you claiming that you can eat any number of calories and not gain weight?