June = 30 Day Shred... who is with me?

Options

Replies

• TheMiddlePath
    TheMiddlePath Posts: 230 Member
    Options
    Me .. I started on the 1st June, and have done 3 workouts so far.

My upper strength is already improving, and whereas I could only use the bigger weights for the first few reps, I can now get through at least the first set before resorting to baked bean cans.

Question .. my knees are sore today - or rather just above my knees, on the inside. Do I continue with workout 4, or take a day off to prevent injury?

Great job! Haha! The great thing is that when you couldn't use the bigger weights, you still used something and didn't give up! WTG!

RE: soreness above your knee... I'm not a doctor and no one is qualified to give you true advice without seeing you. What I would do is try to discern if it is DOMS or delayed onset muscle soreness - perhaps from a muscle you haven't used before or if it is joint pain. I always google what I'm feeling and see how other people describe it. Once I get some perspective, that little voice tells me what to do. The most important thing is that you don't injure yourself. If it truly HURTS to lunge or something and it's not just hard to do because you're weak or not used to something, then DON'T DO IT. Listen to your body and let it guide you.

Thanks for sharing!
  • TheMiddlePath
    Options
    Day 3 down! I'm not taking any rest days. I don't know where people are coming from that the program was designed to have rest days.

I'm not sure where they are getting the info but I just know I haven't researched it enough to say otherwise. I just saw the text file said Level 1 for day 1-10. Level 2 for day 11-20. and Level 3 for day 21-30. I'm going to follow this. I am probably still going to do some strength training like I started doing before and with that I will take rest days. Also, the squat challenge has rest days incorporated on the chart. But for me, like you, as far as the Shred...my goal is every day.