Replies

• JessicaMcB
    JessicaMcB Posts: 1,503 Member
    Options
    psulemon wrote: »
    JessicaMcB wrote: »
    robertw486 wrote: »
    So a question I have re: recomposition! I'm 5'9", CW 139, GW 130, running six days a week (working towards about 60k a week) training for a series of races I have this next year. I have been reading Strong Curves with the intention of working on recomp in August or September but I've had a few people I know outside of MFP who lift heavy who have suggested that my fitness goals re: running will work against my ability to recomp and that I basically have to choose one or the other. Truth to this? I'm not willing to drop something I love for something I'm basically only looking into to drop BF% ykwim?

Most of the people telling you that you have to pick one or the other just don't like one or the other, and so they spread stuff like that.

Thank you, that was kind of my feeling but I also 100% recognize that I am not a fitness expert of any kind so I figured I'd ask. I couldn't see why it wouldn't work to cross-train especially since lifting doesn't burn that many calories in comparison. On to Strong Curves it is!

The bigger thing is keeping up with calories and adequate macronutrients to support your goals. To be honest, i would be impressed it you can run 6 days a week and still lift big.

My thought atm is I would run 11-15K days 4 days a week, lift 2 days a week (4K runs those days just to get to and from the gym), one day rest? It will likely require tweaking, but I feel like if I condense my distance goals into fewer days I might not have to sacrifice on training sheer mileage wise. Thankfully I'm open to the possibility that I have no idea what I'm doing and could crash and burn lol
  • usmcmp
    usmcmp Posts: 21,220 Member
    Options