Recomposition: Maintaining weight while losing fat

Options

Replies

• jen_092
    jen_092 Posts: 254 Member
    Options
    MrsBeccaM5 wrote: »
    I think I'm ready to start recomp. I've been cutting for 6 months and I think I need a break. I've made it past my goal weight. I was continuing to cut to see how low I could get my weight but I think eating at a deficit is starting to wear on me. This past week I've been exhausted, had crazy cravings, felt super hungry, and have had brain fog. I don't think I can handle the weight gain with bulking without getting depressed.
    If you are or have done recomp feel free to add me, I love community support!

I'll add you just because I'm soo close! I've been following this thread for ages now. Just hit 7 months of cutting and my body is not liking it anymore. Because of the defecit I'm always cold, and lately have been so hungry and tired. I tried a maintenence week this week and it felt like I was absolutely feasting. I'm really so excited for recomp!
  • Colt1835
    Colt1835 Posts: 447 Member
    Options
    I'm less than 10 pounds from my goal weight. I had been think I would just keep losing until I get to the bf% I want but the more I think about it recomp seems like a better idea to me. My scale says I'm at 20% bf but I'm sure it's wrong. I'm guessing it's much higher than that. I'd like to focus more on being fit and healthy and less on how I look.

When I hit my goal weight I will be right in the middle of my bmi (with a high bf percentage though) does that seem like a good place to start maintaining while recomping?
  • psuLemon
    psuLemon Posts: 38,395 MFP Moderator
    Options
    Colt1835 wrote: »