Extremely low metabolism

Options
rosebette
rosebette Posts: 1,659 Member
This might just be another whine, but I am becoming frustrated with the curse of a very low metabolism. I'm 56, 5'1.5", around 120 lbs. I'm what might be called moderately active, and I've been using a FitBit HR, which because it's measuring my heartrate throughout the day, is basically calculating my TDEE. I have a really low metabolism, and unless I do a killer kickboxing class and do a 45 minute walk later in the day, I'm lucky if I burn over 1500 a day, and I can't do that every day -- I'm 56 years old, fit, but I can physcially handle only a couple days a week like that without being really sore. I'm an instructor at a big college, where I put in around 5000 steps just walking around campus, climbing stairs, and dragging a huge roller bag. At night, I take a 20-30 minute walk to get the balance of my 10,000 steps in. Yesterday, for instance, a typical work day, I used only 1493 calories. Today, my day off, I did a fitness class during which I did some low impact aerobics (around 20 minutes), weights (20) stretching and abs (20). For the rest of the day, I had some meetings, appointments, etc., around town. My total calories for the day --1316. With a "burn" like that, it's basically impossible to lose, so I made a decision a few weeks back to be in maintenance, but 1300 calories is a pretty low maintenance. Right now, I have MFP set to give me a base of 1000 and use the fitbit sync with negative adjustment to figure out my exercise calories so I have at least some deficit. I know BMR and TDEE are also based on age, size, and weight, and I can't do much about those three at this point. By the way, I had a shoulder injury for a while and am just getting back into lifting, so I do wonder if I lost so much muscle mass because I had stopped lifting that it significantly lowered my BMR.

Replies

• socalprincess1
    socalprincess1 Posts: 52 Member
    Options