Of refeeds and diet breaks

Options

Replies

• Nony_Mouse
    Nony_Mouse Posts: 5,646 Member
    Options
    PAV8888 wrote: »
    Courtesy of @fernt21 who run into this "calorie shifting" (=3 day re-feeds) paper: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4018593/

Awesome :) (cos just hitting the button wasn't enough).
  • collectingblues
    collectingblues Posts: 2,541 Member
    Options
    Leeg5656 wrote: »
    Nony_Mouse wrote: »
    Hi! I'm new to this thread. Thank you Nony and Cynthia for inviting me. Today I am starting my first ever planned diet break. I'm ready but a little nervous for some reason. I think it comes at a good time, because this past week (13th of eating at a deficit) my weight loss this morning was a puny .2#. I have a question. I've been eating at 1200 cal per day (short girl). MFP says to maintain eat 1750. Two other websites say around 1650 and two more say around 1940. What should I aim for?

Welcome aboard @Leeg5656! I agree with aiming higher rather than lower for estimated TDEE. For the diet break to work properly you really need to be hitting maintenance cals. If you're over by 100 a day, worse case scenario you're going to gain less than 1/2 a lb. And remember to include activity in your calculation.

@VintageFeline, no no, she really does mean 13 weeks. We netted this one early ;) Ooooh, data from someone incorporating diet breaks from the start!

Let's see if I have this calculation correct: In 13 weeks, I've lost 20#, so an average around 1.5# / week. I estimate that I've been eating around 1150/day average (based on my last 2 weeks. I don't really feel like going back thru the last 90 days), but I shoot for just a few calories under 1200. So I've been eating at a 5,250 calorie per week deficit. /7 = 750. So I should try for 1150+750= 1,900.

Is that right? That scares me. It sounds like too much.

Was 1150 gross? Definitely a good idea to refeed!