What was/is your experience with the Ketogenic diet?

Options
13»

Replies

• ggirgis44
    ggirgis44 Posts: 29 Member
    edited January 2018
    Options
    Oops, my comment above was supposed to say 283-143. 140 pounds lost with low carb. Also agree with autoroam that adding fat like butter to coffee (unless you fancy it) is unnecessary and didn't speed fat loss for me.
  • NaeJayKay
    NaeJayKay Posts: 14 Member
    edited January 2018
    Options
    Autoroam wrote: »
    I've been doing Keto since mid August 2016 and am loving it. Since then I have lost around 30-32 pounds. It is ironic that I got on to it because all my clothes were too tight and I didn't want to be buying new clothes...but now all my clothes are too big.

Keto works for me because I have a real weakness for sweet things and asian foods which of course include lots of rice, as well as potatoes and bread. All these foods make me feel bloated, cause pain from inflammation and create constant hunger from sugar highs and lows.

Now, I keep my carbs between 20-30 gm (not anal about measuring and weighing) just by eyeballing portions. I eat a lot of high quality chicken (free range), goat meat, fish, prawns, offal like goat and chicken liver. I once even had some grass fed beef tenderloin with no antibiotics or nasties. I cook these meats in butter, ghee, coconut oil/milk, and extremely high quality extra virgin olive oil depending on my mood. And I eat a fair bit of non-starchy vegetables every day. Okra, radish, eggplant, salad leaves, bell peppers, haricot vert, celery, boy choy, cauliflower rice (a lifesaver)...and so on. Nuts like macadamia, Brazilnuts and walnuts as well.