You don't use a food scale?

Options

Replies

• Patposey13
    Patposey13 Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    Hi I'm new at this app. I would love to start go weigh my food. But I dont know where to start. I have. Scale but wouldn't know how much oz of food I merc to eat. Ex; chicken, rice, eggs etc, to count macros. If anyone can just give me an idea. Love reading everyone comment. :):)
    Thanks guys
  • Crafty_camper123
    Crafty_camper123 Posts: 1,440 Member
    Options
    OddDitty wrote: »
    I weigh and/or measure, depending on what it is Im making. Some recipes call for you to measure but not necessarily weigh. I've tried guessing and eyeballing isn't easy. Try this test at home:

Fill a cup with water.
    Take out a cereal bowl, ball up some paper towel, and stick it in the bowl.
    Pour water into the bowl to the amount YOU think equals 1 tablespoon.
    Remove the towel and squeeze it into a measuring tablespoon.

Does your spoon runneth over?

I like your thinking, but why not just pour what looks like a tablespoon into a glass or measuring cup (One that doesn't have tbs. on it) then pour it into a tablespoon? That would eliminate a step completely, and accomplish the same thing. (To check eyeballing.)
  • quiksylver296
    quiksylver296 Posts: 28,442 Member
    Options
    Patposey13 wrote: »
    Hi I'm new at this app. I would love to start go weigh my food. But I dont know where to start. I have. Scale but wouldn't know how much oz of food I merc to eat. Ex; chicken, rice, eggs etc, to count macros. If anyone can just give me an idea. Love reading everyone comment. :):)
    Thanks guys
    Hi, I'm new too and this is what I'm doing - at the moment I'm either weighing out a serving according to the packet (so if the packet says 45g of rice is a serving, that's what I'm weighing out) or I'm using what I think is a serving and weighing it - so one chicken breast to me is about the right amount so I just weigh that.