Flu Shots? thoughts

Options
191011121315»

Replies

• RobynUnfiltered
    RobynUnfiltered Posts: 62 Member
    Options
    I always hate them, but get one anyway. I work with kids so I am exposed to a million germs
  • jwdieter
    jwdieter Posts: 2,582 Member
    Options
    Always fun to see random internet thoughts and anecdotal evidence related to vaccines.
  • sunfirelynn
    sunfirelynn Posts: 186 Member
    Options
    I get one every year because my immune system is weak. :frown:
  • bwatzke
    bwatzke Posts: 3 Member
    Options
    I got the shot today for the first time ever. I am a retired teacher and while teaching I never got the flu even though I had sick kids coming to school and infecting everyone else. Last year I retired and I got the flu! I guess I didn't have the kids to help build up my resistance. The nurse who gave me the shot today told me that she used to not be a believer of getting the flu shot. The clinic she works at made her get it last year. Her son came down with the flu and ended up in the hospital with a high fever. About the same time, there was a child in the area who died from the flu because of a high fever. Everyone in her house, except her, got the flu last year. You can still get the flu if a different strand than what is in the shot comes around. Your chances are greatly reduced, though, if you get the shot.
  • DatMurse
    DatMurse Posts: 1,501 Member
    Options
    People who are immunocompromised shouldnt be running around with normal people in the first place. It is one of the precautions medical professionals tell them.

Because people who are immunocompromised don't have bills to pay, especially medical bills.

If they are immunocompromised, the flu is really the least of their worries.

They are not supposed to be around normal people in crowded areas or be in too much contact, bottom line. You dont see chemo patients running around