Counting driving as exercise?

Options

Replies

• lemurcat12
    lemurcat12 Posts: 30,886 Member
    Options
    If your heart is noticeably pounding after your drive then yes, if your heart rate appears unaffected then no.

This is a pretty standard way of telling if something is exercise or not.

I dunno, this seems like a good way to encourage people to start driving like maniacs. I know my heart always starts pumping like crazy when I'm being chased at high speed by the cops and having to dodge all the other cars!
  • HeatherScent37
    HeatherScent37 Posts: 25 Member
    Options
    I'm a bus driver, so I must be burning more like 600 calories in 2.5 hours since I have to keep reaching for that door handle........
    :laugh:
  • TheVirgoddess
    TheVirgoddess Posts: 4,535 Member
    Options
    I think sex should be on the list. ;)

If you're wearing a HRM and can calculate. It's too variable to judge between different individuals. Besides, if you take a nap after it's probably a wash.

I was joking around.

But, "being too variable to judge" is pretty much every single exercise on MFP, isn't it? I mean, using a riding mower is on there. So is playing pool. The only accurate way to measure any activity is a HRM, IMO. I say this even though I don't have one (yet).

And I don't nap after sex. I'm wired :)
  • _lyndseybrooke_
    _lyndseybrooke_ Posts: 2,561 Member
    Options

If you're having sex for exercise, I'm pretty sure you're doing it wrong.
  • SingRunTing
    SingRunTing Posts: 2,604 Member
    Options

If you're wearing a HRM and can calculate. It's too variable to judge between different individuals. Besides, if you take a nap after it's probably a wash.

"Honey, we need to go faster! My heart rate is dropping!" :bigsmile:
  • _lyndseybrooke_
    Options
    Uh, no. That's worse than logging cleaning as exercise. What's next? Logging typing as exercise?