WOMEN AGES 50+ FOR AUGUST 2014

Options

Replies

• mollywhippet
    mollywhippet Posts: 1,890 Member
    Options
    Ann, in our little town we had a sewer pipe company, "Mission Clay" , that made enormous red clay pipes. They invited several very well known ceramic artists to come to town and use their facility to make large works. One of them was Jun Kaneko. I went to the opening party for his show and was just stunned! Here is a link to a story about the work he did there. It's amazing. As a hand builder, I thought you might enjoy it.

http://www.pittstate.edu/dotAsset/314817.pdf

Scroll down to get an idea how big they really are. This company has several huge beehive kilns that are about a hundred years old. The company is closed now, and have moved their operations elsewhere. I don't know what will happen to those beautiful old kilns. It's kind of sad. In my dreams, we make it into an art center or something, but that would take money.

I only have one kiln, takes 26" shelves. I'd love to get a gas kiln, but I have so few years left to work in clay that it hardly seems viable. Plus, I'm broke. My studio is about 1300 sq ft, and the gallery is about 700.

Sylvia
  • kittytoo
    kittytoo Posts: 27
    Options
    Vicki, Kim and Anne -

Yes, if it works out, I will go to South Africa. It isn't really formalized yet - apparently just a feeler, but Jerry (DH) is getting all his ducks in a row. I think the timeline is for a first trip in October, then we will see what transpires after that. I have friends who will watch (live in) our house, so we don't have to sell it. The only rub is that my mom has dementia and I really hate to leave her. That said, my dad won't let me do ANYTHING to help, so it's not like I'm needed. Yet.

I am heading out to belly dance class. Just looked it up under "exercise" and it burns 315 calories for an hour. No wonder I always get home feeling like I could eat a horse! DH is cooking dinner, bless his heart!

Kitty
  • drkatiebug