What lit your fire?

Options
123457»

Replies

• ntnunk
    ntnunk Posts: 936 Member
    Options
    It happened in stages with me. First, I started riding bicycles about 4 years ago due to a combination of my wife wanting me to ride with her, some other old friends getting into cycling and wanting me to ride with them, and my brother, who's not quite 2 years older than me (but similar enough that people have always thought we're twins) ended up first on blood pressure medication and then shortly afterwards on cholesterol meds too. Just riding bikes got me from my peak weight of about 235 down to around 200-205 over the course of about a year. I've been hovering between 200 and 210 ever since. I started racing bikes last year, this year got serious enough to hire a coach, and figured that if I was going to spend the time, money and effort on coaching, then it's dumb to be riding with 35 extra pounds on me.

Now, at around 194 lbs (currently) and probably more fit than I've ever been, I feel great and regularly kick myself for not doing this years ago. Can't wait to see how I feel at 165!

PS - my brother is still gaining weight and having health problems. We see each other almost every day, he's *at least* 40 lbs heaver than me, and yet he still swears we're "about the same size." It's really, really strange how being overweight affects your self-image.
  • Elsie_Brownraisin
    Elsie_Brownraisin Posts: 786 Member
    Options
    Being forced to look through racks upon racks of clothes that are tents covered in sequins, glitter and flower appliques while my friends get to wear cute, stylish clothing! Nothing says "fat chick" like this:

A-Florida-Christmas.jpg

Love it!

I would wear it actually, at any size, But there wasn't much for me to choose from when I was at at my largest. Why do they put rhinestones on all jeans? Or Betty Boop? Or angels?