Realized I'll never be a runner

Options
123457»

Replies

• Calliope610
    Calliope610 Posts: 3,771 Member
    Options
    FWIW, motivated by this thread, last night, I became a runner.

My primary exercise for the last 1 1/2 year has been daily walking. (I recently added strength training to my program so cardio is down to 3x/wk). I started out walking 1/2 mile in about 20mins. Yeah, that slow. Over time, I have worked up to 4 miles @ 4mph twice a week and a 6-7 mile hike on Saturday.

I have attempted C25K numerous times, but never got past week 2. I was also diagnosed with PFPS due to Patellar Tracking Disorder about 5 months ago. Even then, I never lost sight of my dream to run. I have been rehabing my knee with strength training for the past 2-3 months. But I still feel knee pain upon impact when I attempt to run and have been afraid to run because I don't want to further damage my knee.

Last night I incorporated C25K W1D2 into my treadmill workout. My knee felt a little wonky, but the discomfort is bearable. Then at the 4mile mark (70min) into my workout, I decided to run - just to see how long I could last. And I did, at first just to see if I could get to the 2min mark without my knee killing me. Then 3min. And something amazing happened. By not concentrating on how far, how fast or how long I was running, I found a stride and pace that didn't hurt my knee. I guess I was running - I mean, my arms were pumping, rather than swinging along side my body as they do when I walk. My cadence was different. So yeah, I was RUNNING. And I continued to run for 12:23, until I completed mile 5.

I can't wait for my next cardio workout. I will run again, and again, and again. Not far, not fast, not long compared to many runners, but farther and longer than I ran last night. And I will continue to do that until I no longer can improve.

Thanks for this tread, the comments and the inspiration.
  • RebeccaMae1983
    RebeccaMae1983 Posts: 35 Member
    Options