Reaching 1200 calories

Options

Replies

• TluvK
    TluvK Posts: 733 Member
    Options
    Just a quick FYI that this post will not go well.
    So on with it...

Most 1200 calorie diets fall below your BMR.
    This is bad.
    You lose lean mass as well as fat.

Boost the calories up to 1600 a day and lose the same weight at a more sustainable level and you not only get better nutrients but your energy levels will be high enough to get the best from your training.

As you lose weight and improve lean mass you will be able to eat more.

1600 calories for a woman? That seems really high?1

I hope you're kidding.

Nope, I'm new to this, I obiovusly am still learning! Why does MFP say 1200? How much should I eat a day then?

I'm sorry - sometimes it's hard to know if someone is joking on here. TDEE is the number of calories you burn in a day, so as he pointed out, you want to consume %20 of that to continue to lose weight. I like this calculator: http://www.fitnessfrog.com/calculators/tdee-calculator.html For instance, I work out 6-7 days per week, with an average burn of 500-700 calories just from exercise. I average, per day, over 2,000 calories consumed. If I didn't exercise, I would STILL eat over or around 1,600 calories.

It's different for everyone, but my experiences have been, the more I eat, the more I maintain (I'm not trying to lose). But, I also eat a lot of whole foods, lots of GOOD fats and exercise a lot.
  • jazzalea
    jazzalea Posts: 412 Member
    Options
    I personally will never understand the person who says that they're having difficulty reaching 1200 calories per day....Let's be honest. None of us became overweight because we had difficulty eating 1200 calories per day. We were eating well OVER that amount, which is what caused us to be overweight in the first place......