If you could give only one tip.....

Options
lhaas24
lhaas24 Posts: 92 Member
for someone starting out, what would it be?

Replies

• kristen6022
    kristen6022 Posts: 1,926 Member
    Options
    Stick with it. It didn't come on overnight and it's not going to come off overnight.

Water, Water, Water.

Identify your weaknesses, figure out if you can cut back and if you can't go cold turkey. Some foods trigger some people. If you can do without them, you'll be better off.
  • Mell00546
    Mell00546 Posts: 158 Member
    Options
    Watch for hidden calories and sodium
  • mydeloo78
    mydeloo78 Posts: 328 Member
    Options
    If you are not hungry, food is not the answer.

If you bite it, write it.
  • smemilypfeif
    Options
    Great question! I'm still starting out too, but so far, the best I can say is to keep at it - do it all the way - and you WILL see changes. Good luck!
  • dpjoyce1
    dpjoyce1 Posts: 1
    Options
    I will give two....

Buy a scale and weigh things. What I found was that I thought things weighed more than they did. I found that I could have more (beef/chicken/etc) than I thought when I weighed it and I could enjoy it more because I wasn't stressing over the unknown.

Second...

Water, Water, Water.... I didn't buy into this at first but once I went and doubled my water intake the affects were tremendous.
  • jessicawrites
    jessicawrites Posts: 235 Member
    Options
    Find healthy things that make you happy. Exercise is easy to stick with you in a form you enjoy. Eating healthy doesn't feel like deprivation if it tastes good.
  • SamHughes15
    SamHughes15 Posts: 149 Member
    Options

If you bite it, write it.

haha i love this!

stick to it and don't be scared to treat yourself once in a while!
    Its a lifestyle change not a diet!
  • wasveganvictoria88
    wasveganvictoria88 Posts: 249 Member
    Options
    Never under estimate the power of exercise
  • kayleesays
    kayleesays Posts: 564 Member
    Options