The Term "Newbie"

Options

Replies

• sunsnstatheart
    sunsnstatheart Posts: 2,544 Member
    Options
    "Person who has little or no previous experience." Sounds the least inflammatory, I suppose?

Would you say such a person is "inexperienced?" Perhaps "New?" Maybe we could come up with a catchy little word like "Newbie?"
  • MoreBean13
    MoreBean13 Posts: 8,701 Member
    Options
    "Person who has little or no previous experience." Sounds the least inflammatory, I suppose?

I'm not sure, might not meet the OP's criteria for not implying inferiority. It needs to be more cheerful, like "Potential powerlifting champion of tomorrow"
  • megleo818
    megleo818 Posts: 595 Member
    Options
    I dont know if its an improvent, but in the military new people are called "privates". Maybe not..

;-) I'm new to weight training too. And liking it!

Don't know about working out one's "privates" ... I think "beginner" is good. Or even "novice".

Editing to say that I think of myself as "a recent convert". :happy:
  • BarackMeLikeAHurricane
    Options
    What about newf4g?
  • Pepper2185
    Pepper2185 Posts: 994 Member
    Options
    Just call a spade a spade.

I don't think we need a warm fuzzy term for newbies who are easily offended by being called newbies because they are newbies.
  • rkr22401
    rkr22401 Posts: 216 Member
    Options
    FNG's
  • zorbaru
    zorbaru Posts: 1,077 Member
    Options
    Better than what my on-line gaming community tends to use: Noob. Or N00B … Derived from newbie and definitely more derogatory.

or, as is actually the case, exactly the same, n00b is just l33t speak for newbie.

just another example of how people take political correctness too far.
  • taso42
    taso42 Posts: 8,980 Member
    Options
    Untrained
    Beginner
    Novice

frankly there is nothing deragatory about "newbie". it's a cutsey term.
  • Yeller_Sensation
    Yeller_Sensation Posts: 373 Member
    Options