Atkins/lowcarb anyone?

Options

Replies

• Noory44
    Noory44 Posts: 15 Member
    Options
    yah i have PCOS too and thought i'd try this to finally get the weight off, so far so good! Thanks!
  • ajstaudt
    ajstaudt Posts: 28 Member
    Options
    www.musclehack.com

My personal low-carb haven :)
  • THICKandFIT
    THICKandFIT Posts: 63 Member
    Options
    I am! It is great to see other people workin' the low carb lifestyle. I'm not sure if someone has already posted this or not but here is the link to a myfitnesspal low carb group. There are so great recipes and FAQs!

http://www.myfitnesspal.com/groups/home/394-low-carber-daily-forum-the-group

Anyone can feel free to add me; I'm pretty new to the low carb way of eating as well. :)
  • martinah4
    martinah4 Posts: 583 Member
    Options
    The problem with Atkins is that is an unsustainable diet. It works to be sure, but are you going to live your life on it? I would suggest trying the Metabolic Diet.

In a nutshell, it's high fat/protein and low carb (30gms a day) five days a week. On the weekend you carb load and can eat just about anything you want. You have to finagle a bit to find your particular caloric and carbohydrate set point. Once you figure that out, the fat will come off without catabolizing any hard earned muscle and you will have a much better physique than someone that just diets down and cardios their butts off.

The diet was written by a physician and world class power lifter, Dr. Maureo DiPasquale, so he knows the science and health benefits behind it.

I'm 4 weeks into it and enjoying the heck out of it. I get all my carbs from fibrous vegetables and some whole wheat bread during the week. On the weekends I can have pizza and beer if I want.

The mental aspect is the eternal "diet killer". If you can restrict yourself for 5 days, knowing that the weekend brings relief, it's a lot easier to stay on and succeed. At least it is for me.