Women with curly/kinky hair... anyone sick of it?

Options
flatbellybella
flatbellybella Posts: 303 Member
I've been relaxer free for 3+ years and it's been a journey lol My hair is a wild mix between 3 different cultures and at times I can't stand it.
I'm either at work (i'm a nurse) or I'm at the gym so my hair is usually up. Which means I have to use a TON of gel/products to slick it back. I get compliments but unfortunately I always have to hold myself back from saying "well ya, I can't stand it". I feel like the only people who compliment me on my hair are my older patients who have perms lol
I workout, eat right to look the best I can be... but then I don't do anything fun to my hair.
I spend at least 2x on products vs what I would spend on when I would always be in the salon.

I wear it down and straighten it once in a blue moon... but it's not the same...
I haven't been to the salon in a long time.... ever since I've been natural

Anyone in my shoes?

I want to get a relaxer and do something wild to my hair... BUT I don't want to regret it.
( I bought a curl softener kit but I'm scared to use it) I'm rambling on but someone has got to feel my pain

Replies

• sagefitnessfanatic
    Options
    YES! Welcome to my world. The positive - My hair is soooo much healthier in it's natural state - thicker, longer. I only straighten it once in awhile (hubby loves straight hair smh LOL). But bc I'm a gym rat, it reverts back to curly as soon as I break any type of sweat LOL So, I just "werk" the curly styles and when my body needs a 3 day+ rest/recovery, I straighten it : ) BTW, love your curly hair! You're beautiful!
  • SweetTeaAndCutoffs
    SweetTeaAndCutoffs Posts: 59 Member
    Options
    I have curly hair that's slowly started to relax a little over the years. I use a combo of several different things, but nothing has made a huge difference. I had to comment because I think you are stunningly beautiful!!! You hair looks so good in your profile picture!!!