Overweight personal trainers

Options

Replies

• So_Much_Fab
    So_Much_Fab Posts: 1,146 Member
    Options
    922256d1357147498-difficult-choice-help-me-decide-als-pp-other-zombiethread.jpg
  • ironanimal
    ironanimal Posts: 5,922 Member
    Options
    I was a swimming coach for a competitive club, and overweight, but in that instance it didn't really matter - I could swim well, technique is fine, and had the knowledge to coach and teach from 3 month old babies up to adult competition swimmers.

However, when you're working primarily with clients that want to improve their body aesthetically, being in a good shape is a great advertisement. If you have a choice of Mr Fit And Knowledgable and Mr Knowledgable, most people will take the former in preference. It's perfectly acceptable to be overweight, but it may put some people off - which is fair enough.
  • KnifeThrower89
    Options
    When I was in the army there was this guy I trained with who was in the 300 pound range. Training was over 6 months. I asked him how is it that in 6 months you haven't gotten skinny like the rest of us.

He told me: "Just because I am over weight doesn't mean I am not fit."

He was right. His PT scores were amazing he could run the 5 miles faster than I was able to and that's saying something!

His situps were 50's or 60's I maxed mine at 100.

But the point was He was large and still fit and in shape.
  • aprmay
    aprmay Posts: 216 Member
    Options