Fasting never okay?

Options

Replies

• dta4ever
    dta4ever Posts: 27 Member
    Options
    Here's what works for me:

I fast for a few reasons.
    (1) Sometimes I get so caught up in life that I feel like I have ZERO control. So, in order to prove to myself that I do have some control, I will fast for 1 day and 1 day only. It takes a lot of mental control to do this, even for just one day. When I succeed, I feel so much better about myself!
    (2) If I have a day where I eat WAY too much, my stomach stretches out. So, the following day I will try to either fast all day or only consume 500 calories. This helps shrink my stomach back so it doesn't take as much food to fill me up.

I'm no doctor so I can't tell you whether this is harmful to your metabolism or not. But I know it works for me mentally. And as we all know, you have to have a strong mind to succeed in anything!
  • jennorris1991
    jennorris1991 Posts: 61 Member
    Options
    There is fasting and intermittent 5:2, which is a completely different concept.

I have been on the 5:2 IF diet since March 2013 and I can honestly say it is the ONLY diet plan that has ever worked for me (I am 63 years old and have tried a lot! Read Dr Michael Mosley's book. 5:2 dieting has took off in the UK big time, everyone you speak to and all the newspapers and magazines are talking about it.

It works and it fits into your life as after your low day 500 cals for women and 600 cals for men, you then eat normally (albeit carefully) the next day, so it never feels as if you are dieting and you don't think about food all the time.

Health benefits include lowering of blood pressure (just had mine taken last week and lowest for years) and improved cholesterol readings.

Whoops, didn't see this before i posted! :blushing:
  • tonicandgin
    tonicandgin Posts: 175
    Options
    I've been doing IF ( intermittent fasting) for a week- loving it
  • kiwidrop
    kiwidrop Posts: 222 Member
    Options