Tell me words you can't pronounce correctly.

Options

Replies

• rfw24
    rfw24 Posts: 443 Member
    Options
    I can pronounce most words correctly. But my problem is mental. There are times where the word I am trying to say will not come out of my mouth. Even if it is CAR. I will be able to talk but I can't say CAR. I will say, you know that thing we drive around in??? It has happened on the phone with customers too, very embarrasing. I work in the mortgage business and I was trying to say interest rate and I could not! I just put him on hold and tried to calm my mind down. UGH!!
  • Sinisterly
    Sinisterly Posts: 10,913 Member
    Options
    I can pronounce most words correctly. But my problem is mental. There are times where the word I am trying to say will not come out of my mouth. Even if it is CAR. I will be able to talk but I can't say CAR. I will say, you know that thing we drive around in??? It has happened on the phone with customers too, very embarrasing. I work in the mortgage business and I was trying to say interest rate and I could not! I just put him on hold and tried to calm my mind down. UGH!!
    Hahahahaha... I get that way when tired.
    "That thingymabob" is what I say, instead. Seems to work for me.
  • Fullsterkur_woman
    Fullsterkur_woman Posts: 2,712 Member
    Options
    Just had a discussion with DH about oeuvre. I insisted it was "uhvh". He insisted it was "oohvreh". Turns out I use the British pronunciation and he uses the American. We live in the US, so.... I guess he won. I'm not going to change, though. "oohvreh" sounds dumb.
    It's not the American pronunciation... it's the French one, whence the word comes, so that's why it wins.

Oddly, the Google pronunciation gives it as "you-ver". Which makes me stabby.
  • littlelaura
    littlelaura Posts: 1,028 Member
    Options
    my daughter says "am-blee-ants" for ambulance.
  • MrsG31
    MrsG31 Posts: 364 Member
    Options