Why Aspartame Isn't Scary

Options

Replies

• FunkyTobias
    FunkyTobias Posts: 1,776 Member
    Options
    In for naturalistic fallacy and fear-mongering.
  • RINat612
    RINat612 Posts: 251 Member
    Options
    I'd like to say to the OP that I enjoyed his post and subsequent responses. I am an Electrical Engineer so I am woefully ignorant in this field of study and appreciated someone taking the time to try and teach the uneducated masses, specifically me :happy:

With that said my wife has stated she gets headaches after eating artificial sweeteners so she avoids it. I know a lot of the ingredients she is avoiding are found in tons of other foods/drinks she consumes so... I don't know. As a Migraine sufferer myself (since I was a child) I do know food triggers headaches differently in different people.

I would ultimately agree; however, with the OP that you can't state a particular substance is toxic or a carcinogen (sp?) based simply off of your anecdotal evidence. Doesn't mean you shouldn't avoid it if it affects you.
  • nufertiri
    nufertiri Posts: 25 Member
    Options
    Bump (for a good night read)
  • tladame
    tladame Posts: 465 Member
    Options
    With that said my wife has stated she gets headaches after eating artificial sweeteners so she avoids it. I know a lot of the ingredients she is avoiding are found in tons of other foods/drinks she consumes so... I don't know. As a Migraine sufferer myself (since I was a child) I do know food triggers headaches differently in different people.

I used to get headaches when I used Splenda in my tea every day. I switched to truvia & haven't had any problems with it. I will still use Splenda occasionally, and it doesn't bother me if it's just every once in awhile. I know now not to O.D. on it.

I'm glad to see this actual scientific information regarding aspartame from an educated source. Good to know that it isn't necessarily dangerous, it just affects people differently.
  • richardheath