10 Week's To June

Options

Replies

• stevemcknight
    stevemcknight Posts: 647 Member
    Options
    So yesterday I skipped p90x Shoulders and Arms and did JM30DS instead, didn't have as much time as I thought I would since my daughter needed help with a project for school. I'll jump in with Shoulders and Arms and ARX tonight instead of the Yoga though.

Stats for Tuesday:
    Carbs 142g
    Fat 75g
    Protein 67g
    Fiber 13g
    Cals 1525 eaten out of 1634

I struggle with the food - I'm still pretty new to counting calories and stuff, so I don't really know what I'm doing or what my totals should look like. My goal is NOT to lose weight, just to get in shape, tone, and build muscle.

Can anyone maybe suggest a book that would help explain the nutrition aspect? Something that would explain why different things are important (carbs, fat, etc) and exactly how much you should have to achieve which goals.

There are just so many different ideas on nutrition. Here's the ones that I've read and believe in.

The Anabolic Diet - mostly for people who are close to their goal weight and recomping bodyfat percentage - I personally use this.

The New Atkins Diet Revolution - great for losing a bunch of weight.

The Zone Diet - it's really good and sound, but seemed to be quite difficult to keep all your numbers per meal working. A lot of planning on this one.

The Primal Blueprint - almost no counting on this - I also follow this combined with the Anabolic Diet

3 Hour Diet - good book a little simple for my taste, but explains things well.

The New Rules of Lifting for Women - has a nutrition aspect that is very "Zone" like. 33/33/33

Good Calories, Bad Calories - this is really wordy and scientific. I love it, but it's heavy and not an eating plan. More of a historical account of why the government recommends low-fat.
  • stevemcknight
    Options