Is chlorine in our water negative for better health?

Options

Replies

• queenliz99
    queenliz99 Posts: 15,317 Member
    Options
    WTF did I just read

Drinking too much of that funny water :)
  • TheBeachgod
    TheBeachgod Posts: 825 Member
    Options
    jgnatca wrote: »
    First world problem. There are still two billion people needing secure water supply, and would happily accept chlorination to get there.

http://www.unesco.org/new/en/natural-sciences/environment/water/wwap/facts-and-figures/water-supply-sanitation-and-health/

people-are-more-interested-in-looking-for-water-on-mars-14314118121447245283.jpg

• paulitacedi
    paulitacedi Posts: 2 Member
    Options
    I'm sorry, with all respect, this is the most stupid thing I have ever heard. I'm a water resource engineer and my work is to ensure clean water for people. Chlorine is a must to protect you from dangerous diseases and fluoride protects your teeth.... This kind of post just doesn't make any sense
  • FunkyTobias
    FunkyTobias Posts: 1,776 Member
    Options
    WTF did I just read

54920505.jpg

• dutchandkiwi
    dutchandkiwi Posts: 1,389 Member
    Options
    VeryKatie wrote: »
    I wonder how much faster all the pathogens would kill you if the tap water was not chlorinated. Pretty dang quick, I would think.
    That depends on whether you can upgrade the supply system and the filtering systems prior to treatment. Our water in the Netherlands is perfectly safe meets and greatly exceeds safety regs (ours our very very stringent) and still the water is not chlorinated. When set out against data fromother countries we are at the highest safest end of the scale.
    We are lucky that a lot of our water goes through natural sandfilters (nature reseerves as well as water reserves) but about 1/3 to half of our water is sourced from our main rivers.
    Our water tastes so much better than in the US as I recently found out. All of a sudden I understood the resentment to drinking tapwater.