HALP! Heavy Lifting Made Me SUPAH Bulky!!!

Options

Replies

• sunflowerhippi
    sunflowerhippi Posts: 1,086 Member
    Options
    I agree with Stef too. Don't compare yourself to others. Worry the most about form more then what you are lifting. I progressed very quickly on legs but other lifts due to injuries it took me almost 2 years to hit what some people do in 2-3 months.
  • SagarikaBedi
    SagarikaBedi Posts: 15 Member
    Options
    I bloat heavily when I lift heavy...how to combat that
  • jessicarobinson00
    jessicarobinson00 Posts: 414 Member
    Options
    Kerryatoon wrote: »
    I'm just getting started in weight lifting but here is my progress so far. The first pics I was losing weight eating at a deficit and doing cardio.. 12 lbs later I'm doing a 5x5 program. I'm looking super bulky right? :wink:
    FYI: I'm a breast cancer survivor without reconstruction.. if my scars offend you I'm so not sorry.

Loving your shoulder definition: I'll keep on keeping on!!!
  • quiksylver296
    quiksylver296 Posts: 28,442 Member
    edited May 2016
    Options
    @quiksylver296 how much weight do you normally lift...

@SagarikaBedi She lifts more and more weight every week. 5x5 Stronglifts is a progressive program to get you to lift as much as possible using compound lifts.

She willingly updates a small group of friends on her progress every week at least and is an inspiration to us all.

<3@quiksylver296

Awwww, thanks @lilaclovebird! <3 you, too!
  • quiksylver296
    edited May 2016
    Options

@SagarikaBedi

Stronglifts incorporates squats, bench press, deadlift, overhead press (OHP), and barbell rows. I started at the bar (45 pounds) on all five of them. When you successfully complete five sets of five reps, you move up five pounds. I am currently at:

Squats - 200 lbs
    Bench press - 128 lbs (I bought fractional plates when I couldn't move up 5 pounds at a time any more.)
    OHP - 82 lbs