All calories may not be equal

Options

Replies

• kshama2001
    kshama2001 Posts: 27,982 Member
    Options
    As a newbie, I find the process of measuring and weighing everything to be tedious and very nearly overwhelming. IMO it's more important to make a habit of keeping track of what you eat. If measuring and weighing helps me to be more accurate when I keep track, that will be a good thing. But if it lengthens my prep time significantly, I'm probably not going to keep doing it. I'm not going to risk being late to work in the morning or play practice in the evening. I'm not willing to cut back on sleep, and I would certainly prefer not to cut back on what little exercise time I have.

LOL it is not that time consuming to weigh your food.

No, but it can be really time consuming to measure with cups and spoons which need scraping out and cleaning. Much easier to put toast on plate on scale, hit tare, add almond butter, hit tare, add honey than dinking around with tablespoons and teaspoons. And if you always weigh out the same amount, the logging is much faster too. I strongly suspect that most people who complain about the effort of measuring food are using cups/spoons.

Ya, I left my scale at my OH's one day next week and the next day had to fuss with measuring cups, and look up cup equivalents for things like potatoes. Much faster and easier to weigh.
  • kshama2001
    Options
    Well, I don't know if it's the weighing or the logging, but my previous post was just before I started making lunch for tomorrow, and I just finished logging it. So ~ 40 min, which is 2-3 times what it would take to just put things together.

Now, in fairness, next time I make those particular recipes I won't have to type them in. We'll see how it goes.